Getting ready for winter study 2015

I’m not really sure how to start this blog. I’ve been doing bonsai for four or five years seriously, but got my first tree when I was eight years old. Ever since then I’ve been sketching trees, studying them, quietly telling myself that someday I’d be able to have trees similar to those that I drooled over as a child. Now, after a substantial investment in my collection and many lessons with talented artists like Walter Pall, Jim Doyle, Sean Smith and Pedro Morales, my trees have started to look quite nice.

So there’s my dilemma, I’m not beginning at the beginning, but starting this blog midway into the project. In later updates I plan on talking about why I love bonsai, its connection to nature and my relationship to the art as a scientist, but for now, let me just get some words on the page. Let me type up a little to remove that blank space and get that fucking ugly first entry out of the way.

IMG_0676

Last year I did my first winter study with Walter Pall and Jim Doyle at Nature’s Way Nursery. It was a great time. I learned to carve, to trim maples (really not that hard it turns out!), I made some great friends and I had a few beers with some great artists. All in all, I thoroughly recommend it. I think I may have been more star struck than Walter was.

1476625_415998418528770_587789347_n

A year later I feel more assured in my abilities, more willing to say screw it, I’ll style the damn tree myself. I’ve also gotten rid of my mullet. So some trees that I thought I would be bringing in this year will not be brought. I’m giving my maples a break, and leaving them to simply grow another year. Instead, this year I’m bringing in two quite large, quite old, Japanese white pine. I’d consider myself a beginner at bonsai, and it’s hard to work on such large, old material without feeling like you’re fucking it all up. Better to do it with a teacher like Walter or Jim, who have decades of experience. Although they’re artists, they also function as bonsai therapists, reassuring you that you’re not actually killing the tree. I can only imagine that this must get grating for them after a while.

IMG_0921 IMG_0922

Quite beautiful, no? Well, I think so. These were bonsai purchased from the Kennett Collection sale, for quite reasonable prices. They were likely field grown in Japan and the development of their bark hints at their age: only 70 year old white pines develop the aging, gnarly bark you see on both trees.

So what is to be done with these? Both are wired quite nicely, show movement, visual interest and age. These trees were likely maintained by Japanese masters, flown in specifically to work on the Kennett Collection. What’s an upstart like me doing restyling them?

Well, bonsai is above all else a living art. It changes, year after year. You can’t commit to a specific vision for more than a few decades. Branches thicken, roots swell, twigs die back and disasters happen – I’ve heard of more than one masterpiece that had a tree branch fall on it, forcing a new design.

These trees show some flaws that, while they might be ignored in a large collection, force me to try to address them in some way. White pine #2 has an ugly graft mark. See it there? It runs directly perpendicular to the trunk. This is common in white pine – the white pine is grafted onto black pine root stock so that the less vigorous tree is fed by the more vigorous trees roots. No matter, we will choose a new front and all will be hidden. I also think it’s conical canopy is unsightly. The modern preference is for pines with well rounded apices, cloud like. Call me a slave to fashion, but I will be seeking that design.

White pine #1 has obviously had many branches shaded out. When a branch does not receive enough light, the tree simply gives up on it, allowing it to die and reinvesting its energy elsewhere. Makes sense from an evolutionary perspective, but plays hell with your design as an artist. I suspect that this is one reason that it was sold for so reasonable a price. It may never be a classical Japanese tree, but I think there is some fun to be had with it. I will jin all the dead branches and paint them with lime sulphur, whitening them like sun dried bones. I hope to bring more foliage forward over the front of the tree, disguising its trunk. For whatever reason, this is one of my all time favorite trees. It calls to mind something ancient and titanic, as if it could have towered over sauropods in the Jurassic. Nevermind. No more.

This weekend I will update with another entry, more photos of me and Walter, and more tree stories.

Cheers,

Joe

Leave a Reply

